Districts of Andaman and Nicobar

There are three districts in Andaman and Nicobar Islands namely North and Middle Andaman District, South Andaman District and Nicobar District.

Andaman and Nicobar Islands is a union territory of India, located in the Indian Ocean south of the Bay of Bengal, it is made up of 572 small and large islands in total, out of which people live on only a few islands. Its capital is Port Blair.

Neighboring Nagar Districts and States of Andaman and Nicobar Islands

This union territory is connected by water to the metropolitan cities of three states of India, viz., Calcutta in West Bengal, Chennai in Tamil Nadu and Visakhapatnam in Andhra Pradesh, and by air to Delhi, Bangalore in Karnataka and Bhubaneswar in Odisha. It is connected which is in Khordha district.

Andaman and Nicobar Islands

The word Andaman is derived from the Malay word Handuman which is a modified form of the name of the Hindu deity Hanuman. The word Nicobar is also derived from this language which means the land of naked people. Nestled in the Indian Ocean, the serene and serene Andaman is a popular island group of India, giving a feeling of immense pleasure to the minds of tourists. On 26 December 2004, more than 6000 people died on the island due to tsunami waves.

List of names of districts of Andaman and Nicobar

Facts about South AndamanSouth Andaman238,14214.23%89.13%89
Facts about North And Middle AndamanNorth And Middle Andaman105,597-0.02%83.91%28
Facts about NicobarsNicobars36,842-12.42%78.06%20


How many districts are there in Andaman and Nicobar

There are 3 districts in Andaman and Nicobar, the largest district is South Andaman with a population of 238,142, literacy is 89% and population density is 89%, the smallest district is Nicobar district, where population is 36,842, literacy is 78% and population density is 20%, all these districts are surrounded by water from three sides, each district is its own district headquarters.

Andaman and Nicobar History

Andaman and Nicobar Islands is a union territory of India. There are a total of 572 islands here. About 86 percent of the area of ​​Andaman is covered by forests, it is located in the Indian Ocean, south of the Bay of Bengal. Its capital is Port Blair.

The islands were conquered by the Marathas in the 17th century. After this it was ruled by the British and later it was taken over by Japan during the Second World War. For some time this island was also under the Azad Hind Fauj of Netaji Subhas Chandra Bose. And General Lokanathan had been the governor here. After independence from the British government in 1947, it became a union territory of India.

This place was used by the British rule to keep the revolutionaries away from India under repressive policies in the freedom movement. That is why this place was infamous among the agitators as Kala Pani.

A separate prison, the Cellular Jail, was built in Port Blair for the imprisonment, which was similar to Siberia for British India.

Information about the states of India other than district

UttarakhandTelanganaA state in Eastern India
Andaman and Nicobar islandsAndra PradeshSikkim
PunjabTamil NaduAssam
Jammu and KashmirKeralaArunachal Pradesh
Uttar PradeshKarnatakaNagaland
Himachal PradeshMaharashtraManipur
DelhiMadhya PradeshTripura
JharkhandOdishaWest Bengal

By Moe

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *